## CITY OF ROCKPORT, INDIANA RESOLUTION NO. 2010-5

The Common Council of the City of Rockport, Indiana met in regular session on the 4<sup>th</sup> day of August, 2010 at 6:00 p.m., in the City Hall Council Chambers, 426 Main Street, Rockport, Indiana after due notice thereof as required by law. Due to the unfortunate and untimely death of Mayor Nedra Groves, Indiana law required that the vacancy of the office of Mayor had to be filled by the President of the Common Council pursuant to I.C. Section 3-13-11-15. As of the end of the business day on August 2, 2010, when Harold Goffinet was duly selected Mayor of the City of Rockport, Indiana, Council President Ferman Yearby III served as Mayor of the City of Rockport from the end of the business day on July 12, 2010. City attorney John Hargis explained to the Council that the filling of the vacancy was automatic in accordance with Indiana law. However, it was appropriate for the Council to consider approval of the appointment of Ferman Yearby III as Mayor retroactive to the end of the business day on July 12 through the end of the business day on August 2, 2010, with due compensation therefor. Upon motion duly made, seconded and unanimously approved, the Council adopted the following resolution:

BE IT RESOLVED that the appointment of Ferman Yearby III as Mayor of the City of Rockport, Indiana arising out of the vacancy of the office from the end of the business day on July 12 to the end of the business day on August 2, 2010 be and is hereby affirmed; and

BE IT FUTHER RESOLVED that then acting Mayor, Ferman Yearby III, shall be compensated for performing the position of Mayor from the end of the business day on July 12 to the end of the business day on August 2, 2010 at the same rate and compensation level to which the Mayor was entitled during the period that the temporary vacancy was filled.

All of which is resolved this 4<sup>th</sup> day of August, 2010, effective retroactively to the end of the day on July 12, 2010.

¥

Common Council of the City of Rockport, Indiana:

ackie N. Morrison

Ferman Yearby, III

Julie F. Payne

abert mach

Robert C. Mack

bugs Connie L. Hargis